The Kinsey Millhone Alphabet Series Author, Sue Grafton, Author Biographies | Nara

Sue Grafton was born on April 24, 1940 in Louisville, Kentucky the place she and her sister have been additionally raised. Her dad and mom have been Legal professional C.W. Grafton and Vivian Harnsberger Grafton. Her father additionally wrote in his spare time had 4 mysteries printed.

After graduating with a BA in English Literature from the College of Louisville in 1961, Sue labored in

Santa Monica and Santa Barbara, California, cashier, medical secretary and hospital admissions clerk. Though she began writing when she was 18 years previous, she wasnít printed till 1967.She began writing screenplays, Tv motion pictures, and tv pilots.

Sue is married to Steven F. Humphries and has three kids from earlier marriages. She was in the midst of a divorce within the 1980ís when she began writing her Kinsey Millhone books. She joking says, “Your homicidal urges may be turned to good on this world. Donít let that ex-husband get you down! Simply begin a brand new job.”

Sue Grafton lives in Santa Barbara the place her Kinsey Millhone Protagonist lives, however she has renamed it Santa Theresa within the books. A few years in the past one other creator, Ross Madonald, additionally set his protagonist, Lew Archer, in Santa Theresa.

Sue says that when she first did e book signings, the general public in line have been ladies, however now there are not less than as many males if no more. She shouldn’t be a gender impartial author.

Sue was writing one e book a yr however determined that was an excessive amount of, so now she publishes a e book about each eighteen months. She says that when she dies, she is going to go away all of her papers to Boston College. She completely refuses to let Hollywood pay money for Kinsey Millhone.

Books by Sue Grafton:

Kinsey Millhone Sequence:

A is for Alibi (1982)

B is for Burglar (1985)

C is for Corpse (1986)

D is for Deadbeat (1987)

E is for Proof (1988)

F is for Fugitive (1989)

G is for Gumshoe (1990)

H is for Murder (1991)

I is for Harmless (1992)

J is for Judgement (1993)

Ok is for Killer (1994)

L is for Lawless (1995)

M is for Malice (1996)

N is for Noose (1998)

O is for Outlaw (1999)

P is for Peril (2000)

Q is for Quarry (2002)

R is for Ricochet (2004)

S is for Silence (2005)

T is for Trespass (2007)

U is for Undertow (2009)

Kinsey Millhone Omnibus:

Three Full Novels 1: A, B and C (1990)

Three Full Novels 2: D, E and F (2001)

Three Full Novels 3: G, H and I (2002)

Three Full Novels 4: J, Ok and L (2007)

Three Full Novels 5: M, N and O (2008)

Stand Alone Novels:

Keziah Dane (1967)

The Lolly-Madonna Conflict (1998)

Anthologies Edited:

The Greatest American Thriller Tales: 1998 (1998) with Otto Penzler


Writing Mysteries: A Handbook by the Thriller Writers of America (2002)

Sue Grafton is well-known for the meticulous and painstaking analysis she does for every e book. Her complete collection takes place within the 1980’s, so she has to ensure she does not get forward of herself (hmm…no cell telephones…). After all, meaning Kinsey Millhone stays in her 30’s, too.

Source by Elizabeth Lindsey

Please rate Stellar

0 / 5

Your page rank:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *